Ritu and Akshay

I saw him in college for the first time in first year B-com and I went weak in my knees. I thought he was cute and something about him made me smile. We knew each other, but at that point in time I was not interested in any kind of a relationship. I don’t think he was either. We spent a good 3 years in college together and we got to know each other well. Since we spent a lot of time together, at some point in time in our last year of college, our friends thought we were dating. But I was still waiting for him to ask me out.

I am from Bombay and he is from Dubai, which means college was ending and our friendship was soon going to turn into merely occasional phone calls. That alone made me feel a bit weak and I realised that I liked him more than a friend. However I was not keen to jump into a long distance relationship and I was not sure if he was up for it either. So I waited. On my last birthday which we spent together, I was hoping he would ask me out. I guess life had other plans – instead of asking me out, he asked me if I liked him! We laugh about it now, but back then I was a little taken aback; because in my mind, I thought he would declare his feelings for me instead. Anyhow I made it more difficult for him – I just told him that he was a good friend. He left for Dubai, while I was here in Bombay. It’s only when he spent a few months without me, I guess it dawned upon him, that he liked me more than a friend. He flew back to Bombay and made sure this time around he left as my “boyfriend”. And that’s when our story began. We dated for 3 years before we decided to get married. We are happily married for 6 and a half years with a 2 year old daughter.

4 thoughts on “Ritu and Akshay

Comment on this Article

