Priyanka and Saurav

They say, a picture speaks a thousand words. Saurav’s photo spoke right through my heart from the day I saw it.

It was a typical arranged marriage scenario at home. On a balmy November afternoon my sister randomly flipped her laptop towards me and asked, “What do you have to say about this picture, isn’t he very handsome?” All I managed to tell her was, “Yeah” with a big smile. I was totally besotted looking at his picture. It was love at first sight for me.

We could not meet till January due to some circumstances, and it felt like a long wait. This left me frustrated. I would constantly question my mom, “What happened to ‘that’ proposal, why isn’t the guy coming to see me?” She would always give me hope without ever getting miffed.

Finally, the day drew closer and I was flushed with immense joy. On January 14, 2012, the knight in the shinning amour finally came down from Delhi. When we saw each other for the first time something magical happened. We could not stop talking once we started. By the time our official meeting ended, we exchanged numbers and the day ended with our very first of many romantic dates.

The thought of my first date always brings out a chuckle. I was then working with a PR firm and had an event to attend, so I asked Saurav to join me there. We walked through the corridors of the Taj and soaked in every bit of our tête-à-tête. The world around us just failed to exist. Later that night we headed for what I would like to call the ‘real’ date. We spoke eye-to-eye, heart to heart becoming surer about each other. I could feel the connection and the feeling was wonderful.

The next two days just flew by and so did my love with a heavy heart. I could see the pain in his eyes at the airport before he left for Delhi. It took us ten days to tell our parents that we are ready to be tied in holy matrimony.

Our courtship lasted for six months and everything about it was surreal. He flew often to Bangalore and we spent hours chit-chatting about love, life and happiness. We were truly, madly and deeply in love. We had a very heartwarming engagement ceremony in Delhi at his house. Saurav went down on his knees and proposed to me in front of everyone. I was flabbergasted, overjoyed and teary-eyed, because it was just so dreamy and touching.

From falling in love to finding my better half, my life has been full of surprises. We have been married for a year now and it has been a great journey so far.

Comment on this Article

