Menaz and Devang

Life is a like a blank page of dots, which gradually connect to form a pattern, with every passing experience. We realize the meaning and importance of certain events in our lives only after we look back at them from a future point.

It has been more than fourteen years since I have known her, and we have spent a lovely decade together. Little did I know, that my best friend’s sister would be the love of my life.

I was the President of the Rotaract Club of Churchgate, when she joined. What started as a secret crush, blossomed into a little more, and soon enough, all my friends could easily see through it. When it was pretty obvious even for her to know how I felt, I decided to declare my feelings openly on June 14th 2004. But I got that one response which a man dreads, and which a woman generally uses – “I do not see you that way.”

A hopeless romantic that I am, I decided to try the “Paanch Din Ladki In” theory I had seen in a Bollywood movie. I switched off my phone  and become inaccessible to all my contacts. When I switched it on the next day, there were around two-three messages and a couple of calls from her which I ignored. Finally the next day, my heart got the better of my head (as always) and I called her. We spoke through the night till four in the morning. (I guess the trick worked).

We met over coffee at Barista the next day, and I gave her a letter I had written, describing my feelings. I left for Ahmedabad in the evening, and while I was on my way to the railway station, I got a phone call from her. She said yes!

From that day on, there has been no looking back. We have been together ever since. She has been my best friend, and it has been a roller coaster ride. I have loved every minute of it and it wouldn’t be the same without her.

602009_10200307985995841_1095164922_n

One thought on “Menaz and Devang

  1. Awww! Love you two! By far the best couple I know! ♥ Wish you two a lifetime of happiness, of course with your little bundle of joy coming soon! 🙂

Comment on this Article

